

Lynden's Jack Sorensen named 2018 Alaska Truck Driver of the Year

Wed, Jun 27, 2018

Lynden Transport Driver Jack Sorensen was recently named the 2018 Alaska Truck Driver of the Year by the Alaska Trucking Association (ATA). Lynden drivers have been named Driver of the Year four out of the past five years. Lynden Transport Driver John Schank received the award twice – in 2014 and 2017 – and Alaska West Express Driver Brian Ambrose was recognized in 2016. Brian was named second place overall champion of this year's competition on May 19 as well as taking first place in the sleeper truck class.



Pictured above from left: Jim Jansen, Justus Uphus, Jack Sorensen, Brian Aszmus, Doug Longerbone and Brian Ambrose.

"We are extremely proud of the professionalism and commitment our drivers exhibit every day on the job, but also the knowledge and skills they bring to the annual ATA truck driving championships," says Lynden Transport President Paul Grimaldi. "These drivers are the best of the best. They must complete a written knowledge test, a pre-trip inspection and a skills course as part of their participation."

Jack has earned many first-place finishes in the annual driving competition in Anchorage and has maintained an accident-free record for 34 years. He has traveled to the national truck driving competition seven times over his long driving career. "Driving in Alaska can certainly be a challenge with moose on the road year-round, tourists on the road in the summer and extreme weather in the winter," he says.

Lynden Transport Driver Doug Longerbone took first place in the five-axle category, Greg Sims, seventh

place in the five-axle; Brian Aszmus, fourth in the stepvan and Cody McFarlane took fourth place in the four-axle class. Alaska West Express Driver Joseph George placed fourth in the five-axle, James Elliott took third in the four-axle and Edward Tuia placed fourth in the flatbed class.